Helen Everett Award

HLF Helen Everett Awards
Helen Everett

The Helen Everett Award was established to recognize individuals or organizations whose contributions improve the quality of public library services in Humboldt County.

Helen Everett was an ardent supporter of public libraries and worked diligently to make sure the community recognized and valued their importance.

For many years Helen was the Librarian at Humboldt State University and was a Founding Member of the Library Construction Advisory Committee (LCAC). As chair of the LCAC her leadership and commitment led to the construction of the Main Library in 1995.

The Humboldt Library Foundation has established this award in her name to recognize her outstanding contribution and to recognize an individual or an organization who embodies the Helen Everett spirit and whose contribution improves the quality of public library services in Humboldt County.

Helen Everett Award Honorees:

  • Humboldt Library Foundation Donors, 2022
  • Susan O’Connor, 2020
  • Judy & Jim Anderson, 2019
  • Ronda Wittenberg, 2018
  • Sara Traphagen & David Duda, 2017
  • William Pierson, 2016
  • JoAnn Bauer, 2015
  • The Jazz Band, Nice ‘n Easy, 2014
  • Glenn & Janis Saunders, 2013
  • Bill & Grace Greenwood, 2012
  • Bonnie Neely, 2011
  • Michele McKeegan and Ed Olsgard, 2010
  • Coast Central Credit Union, 2009
  • Vis Upatisringa, 2008
  • Marge Custis, 2007
  • Elizabeth Murguia, 2006
  • Sally Upatisringa, 2005
  • Jane Stein, 2004
  • Francis Rapin, 2003
  • Janie Walsh, 2002
  • Mid Westfall, 2001
  • Evelyn Bennett, 2000
  • Judy Klapproth, 1999